Key Stage 4 (Years 10 – 11)

At Key Stage 4 students are required to study English, Mathematics, Science, Welsh, Religious Studies, Information Technology, Physical Education and Personal and Social Education and the Welsh Baccalaureate as fixed elements.

In addition, the 14-19 Pathways Curriculum has placed the school at the forefront of the latest developments in educational provision within the Wrexham locality, enabling students to access a wider range of courses including vocational studies. Some of these are based at Coleg Cambria and St. Christopher’s School and provide students with a valuable learning experience in a     different educational and professional environment.

Courses include Public Services, Law, Animal Care, Engineering, Principal Learning, Performing Arts Psychology, Hair and Beauty, Spanish and Construction and are offered as part of our successful pathway programme.

Course selection for the 14-19 Learning Pathway is supported by Progress Managers, Subject and Form Teachers and Learning Coaches. Option choices are regularly reviewed as the school provides a curriculum which is varied and flexible enough to address the needs of individual students. Emphasis is also placed, throughout the curriculum on the acquisition of Essential and Wider Skills which support achievement in all aspects of learning and boost the employability opportunities and skills of every student.

Our excellent partnership with Coleg Cambria is well established. As the largest partner of vocational learning in Wrexham, large numbers of our students study at Coleg Cambria every year as part of their options programme.

We are proud of our partnership with the North Wales Army. A specialist vocational programme is offered as an additional curriculum opportunity in Year 10 and 11. The course provides students with essential life skills and self discipline and formal qualifications.

The Welsh Baccalaureate

The Welsh Baccalaureate is an exciting qualification for students in Wales that adds a valuable new dimension to the subjects and courses already available for 14 to 19 year old students.

It combines personal development skills with existing GCSE and vocational qualifications to make one wider award that is valued by employers and colleges.

The qualification focuses on 6 sections:

  1. Wales, Europe and the World
  2. PSE (Personal and Social Education)
  3. Working with an employer
  4. Enterprise
  5. Community Participation
  6. Individual Investigation